DAVE MUSTAINE Says There Will be No Reunion with MARTY FRIEDMAN and NICK MENZA

Megadick Megadeth frontman Dave Mustaine recently participated in an interview with the Las Vegas Sun about the new album ‘Super Catastrophe’ ‘Super Collider’ and revealed his thoughts on a possible reunion with Marty Friedman and Nick Menza. On the topic of a reunion he said “Marty doesn’t want to be in MEGADETH. He quit, he’s a quitter, so get over it. And Nick isn’t very healthy. Look at any of the video clips of him lately. So it’s like either you’re stupid or you’re a dreamer. During our Metalocity interview with Nick he did say that he would be open to re-joining if Dave called him, but I guess he won’t be getting that call anytime soon. And that’s a shame too….because it would be great to see that lineup again. On the subject of the new album he said that it “entered the charts at No. 6. If that’s something to be critical of, then bring it. I’ll take that all day long.” I guess when Metallica’s Black Album outsold the new Megadeth album in a single week, he took that embarrassment all day long too. I mean, to have your brand new album outsold by your former band’s album that’s over 20 years old. That’s gotta sting!

You can read the entire interview here if you’d like, but first I’d like to address a few things here. I don’t know the real reason, but I’m guessing that Marty quitting may have had something to do with Dave’s struggle with carpel-tunnel. From what I can recall, the carpel-tunnel was impacting the band’s productivity. Marty was probably sick of waiting around for Dave to either get better or decide to put an end to the band. He wanted to stay creative and keep making music, can you blame him? On the Nick front, I can’t comment on his health because I’m not his doctor. All I can say is that Dave isn’t exactly healthy. In fact he’s really sick….in the brain. I’m not talking about a tumor here, I’m talking about religion. That’s some pretty potent stuff there and it can lead to major brain damage if abused or used improperly. Also, Dave dropped Nick while he was recovering from having a tumor in his leg removed. Nick went from being on temporary leave, to being replaced and told “your services are no longer needed”. Apparently he’s healthy enough to go touring in South America as part of the Metal All Stars tour and playing with people such as Phillip Anselmo, Joey Belladonna, and Max Cavalera…..so whattup now!?

Marty may be a ‘quitter’ but Dave is an asshole in my opinion. But opinions are like assholes too, nobody thinks theirs stinks. Except for me, I’m the first to admit that my brown-eye has definitely got some stank on it. Speaking of stank, let’s see how the first single from ‘Super Collider’ compares to the first single from ‘Rust In Peace’, shall we?

 

 

12 thoughts on “DAVE MUSTAINE Says There Will be No Reunion with MARTY FRIEDMAN and NICK MENZA”

  1. You should chill man, Marty and Dave are cool, Marty left to branch out in music… if you want to rip on ‘Super Collider’ you should consider some of the pop stuff that Marty has done, you need to grow up a little bit. I personally love both of the guys.

    1. I just re-read this for the first time since posting. Wow…I must have been heated that day and felt like going on a rant. I know Marty has done a lot of J-Pop stuff, which I haven’t heard. But you gotta admit, ‘Super Collider’ was not the best single to lead with.

  2. I think it is sad that they will not have the line up reunited. As far as the religion crack, grow up spooky boy! true metal is about expression not being posers like you that play the I’m dark, I’m scary routine. LOL! what are you going to do wear your poser gear when your an old man and get beat up by kids that think your a joke?

    1. So, just because I’m an Atheist it makes me a poser? HAHA! That’s funny. I had no idea that an Iron Maiden t-shirt and jeans was considered “poser gear” (that’s what I’m wearing right now).

  3. Do any of you not believe the media?

    My god, Dave is a humble son of a bitch. You watch a recent interview of his and It’ll learn you about how knowledgeable he is on the struggles of life.

    Marty wanted to do his own thing… He was being held back by Megadeth in my opinion and Menza was probably thought of by Dave at the time, a cripple because he went into surgery.

    Yeah it’s an asshole move after a week when he was playing drums just fine again, but coming from what Dave probably thought of at the time, he was making a choice for Megadeth as a whole. That and I heard Dave had longterm beef with Menza that isn’t disclosed.

  4. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours these
    days, yet I by no means found any interesting article like yours.
    It is lovely price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web
    owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net shall be much more helpful than ever before.

  5. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I
    came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and fantastic
    style and design.

  6. Dave has always had a soft spot for nazis, I’ve seen it in interviews about how he reacts to them when he talks about racist skinheads in the Wake up Dead video, and he made it clear to Marty in the past about being Jewish. Look at the Rock Against Communism shirt he’s wearing on Rust In Peace’s insert. When you hear his politics today, he’s way off to the right. I used to love Megadeth, but something was always off about the Dave and his attitude. I loved when Marty was in the band, the guys a technical genius and I love what he’s doing today. Dave has that air about him that you just want to avoid the guy. He’s the kind of American that makes me so not proud of being a citizen… especially if people start actually listening to him.

Leave a Comment

