Tag Archives: Manowar

MANOWAR Kill With Power At The Fox Theater In Pomona, California


The Fox Theater- Pomona, California – February 22nd

The ritual began at Gyu-Kaku in Torrance, California (Japanese BBQ) where we feasted upon grilled flesh until the gods of food told us to stop, at which time we proceeded on our journey to the Fox Theater in Pomona to witness the almighty Manowar perform as part of their Kings Of Metal XXIV tour. There were also no opening bands, which I think helped to keep the posers away.

Upon entry to the stage area, Southern California’s Army Of Immortals were greeted with giant video screen backdrops displaying the band’s logo and the almighty speakers that bassist Joey DeMaio and guitarist Karl Logan would blast through. Those video screens would later display killer background imagery along with occasional video vignettes documenting the band and the recording of Kings Of Metal XXIV.  There was also a cool little tribute to “fallen brothers” which included people such as Richard Wagner, Ronnie James Dio, and former Manowar drummer Scott Columbus.

The band opened with their autobiographical song ‘Manowar’ from their debut album Battle Hymns and followed those with ‘Blood Of My Enemies’ and ‘Sign Of The Hammer’ – vocalist Eric Adams was sounding amazing as always so this was definitely shaping up to be a great Manowar show. Suddenly, after the third song, we were all presented with the dreaded “technical difficulties” dilemma and had to wait a little while for things to be rectified. After a little bit of waiting, the band returned to the stage to continue the show without any further issues.

The energy at this show was incredible, the best crowd I’ve seen at a Manowar show…and it’s about time! I had seen them twice before in Southern California over the years and the shows weren’t as packed as they should have been, so it was great to be a part of this adrenaline inducing event.

-Max ‘ManJewky’ Wallis
KM Co-Founder / Blog Editor

Set List:
01. Manowar
02. Blood Of My Enemies
03. Sing Of The Hammer
04. The Lord Of Steel
05. The Dawn Of Battle
06. The Warrior’s Prayer (new version)/Blood Of The Kings
07. Thy Kingdom Come
08. The Heart Of Steel
09. Joey solo / Sting Of The Bumblebee
10. Wheels Of Fire
11. Hail And Kill
12. Kings Of Metal

13. Kill With Power
14. Warriors of The World
15. Black Wind, Fire & Steel


Image courtesy of Magic Circle Music

This Speaker Setup Could Literally Kill You

A buddy of mine sent me this link to a video report on CNN exploring the ESA (European Space Agency) and their Large European Acoustic Facility. Their speaker setup will “literally kill you, or at least completely rupture your eardrums.”

You can check out the video report here, there’s even a Manowar reference!


MANOWAR To Release ‘Kings Of Metal MMXIV’ On February 28th

Manowar will be releasing their 25-anniverasry edition of their classic album Kings Of Metal on February 28th, 2014. It’s not the usual remixed/remastered deal, this is actually a brand new recording with “many surprises.” However, it appears as though it will only be released on CD as a 2-disc set….no plans for a vinyl release (boooo!)

The band will be embarking on a world tour performing the Kings Of Metal album in full.

“Kings Of Metal MMXIV” track listing (not final):

Main tracks:

* Wheels Of Fire MMXIV
* Kings Of Metal MMXIV
* Heart Of Steel MMXIV
* Sting Of The Bumblebee MMXIV
* The Crown And The Ring MMXIV (orchestral version)
* Kingdom Come MMXIV
* Hail And Kill MMXIV
* The Warrior’s Prayer MMXIV
* Blood Of The Kings MMXIV

Bonus tracks:

* Blood Of The Kings MMXIV (instrumental)
* Hail And Kill MMXIV (instrumental)
* Heart Of Steel MMXIV (acoustic intro)
* Kingdom Come MMXIV (instrumental)
* Wheels Of Fire MMXIV (instrumental)


MANOWAR Announce U.S. Leg Of ‘Kings Of Metal MMXIV Anniversary Tour’

In celebration of the 25th-anniversary of their classic Kings Of Metal album, Manowar will be embarking on the Kings Of Metal MMXIV Anniversary Tour in early 2014 during which they will be performing the Kings Of Metal album in full!

U.S. dates have just been announced and we are stoked that they will be hitting our (not-so-immediate) area. The band isn’t exactly known for touring through Southern California that often, aside from those few shows when they were on Metal Blade Records. You can see the list of confirmed dates below. Tickets for all shows go on sale this coming (black) Friday.

Friday, February 7, 2014 – Royal Oak Theatre – Royal Oak, MI
Saturday, February 8, 2014 – Concord Music Hall – Chicago, IL
Sunday, February 9, 2014 – Mill City – Minneapolis, MN
Thursday, February 13, 2014 – The Masquerade – Atlanta, GA
Saturday, February 15, 2014 – House Of Blues – Houston, TX
Sunday, February 16, 2014 – House Of Blues – Dallas, TX
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 – Ogden Theatre – Denver, CO
Thursday, February 20, 2014 – Regency Theatre – San Francisco, CA
Saturday, February 22, 2014 – Fox Theatre – Pomona, CA


Throwback Thursday: MANOWAR – ‘Kings Of Metal’

It’s Thursday, and you know what that means….Throwback Thursday!

This week’s featured throwback is the Kings Of Metal album from Manowar. Released in 1988 and due for a 25-anniversary release next year dubbed Kings Of Metal 2014 via Magic Circle Music, this essential album truly captures the Manowar spirit. You can listen to the album below, but you might have to turn up just a little due to the dated recording technology. The band will be performing this album in full on their upcoming Kings Of Metal Anniversary World Tour. You can see a promo video for that below the album stream.